On this day.. Al-Ahly wins the Egypt Cup after a dramatic match against Zamalek 4-3

The most enjoyable match in the history of the summit meetings was held between Al-Ahly On this day, July 2, 2007, Zamalek were in the final of the Egypt Cup. The match between the two rivals went into extra time before Al-Ahly won 4-3. It witnessed the brilliance of a large number of players, most notably Osama Hosni, who scored the third and fourth goals, in addition to Emad Meteb and Abu Trika from Al-Ahly, in addition to Amr Zaki, Gamal Hamza and Shikabala from Zamalek.

The meeting was of particular importance after the success of Zamalek In the victory over Al-Ahly, with two goals to none, in the second round of the local league, in the absence of coach Manuel Jose after the Reds secured the title and played the match with substitutes.

Al-Ahly The match started with the following lineup: Amir Abdel Hamid in goal, in front of him the three defenders Shady Mohamed, Emad El Nahhas and Ahmed El Sayed, in the middle of the field Islam El Shater, Mohamed Barakat, Hossam Ashour, Mohamed Shawky and Abou Trika, and in attack Emad Meteb and Flavio.

As for Zamalek, they played with the following formation: goalkeeper Mohamed Abdel Monsef, in front of him Ahmed Ghanem Sultan, Wael El-Qabbani, Wissam El-Abdy, Amr El-Safty, and Tarek El-Sayed in defense, Alaa Abdel-Ghani, Tamer Abdel-Hamid, and Hazem Emam in midfield, and Amr Zaki and Gamal Hamza in attack.

The first half ended in a goalless draw, before Zamalek emerged victorious in the second half and opened the scoring in the 50th minute through Amr Zaki, from a joint mistake between Shady Mohamed and Emad El Nahhas.

Moataz responded quickly by scoring the equaliser in the 57th minute, but Zamalek snatched the lead again in the 65th minute through substitute Shikabala.

While everyone expected Zamalek to win the Egypt Cup, Al-Ahly equalized in the 88th minute through Abu Trika, extending the match to extra time.
Zamalek took the lead in the 100th minute through Gamal Hamza, but substitute Osama Hosni gave Al-Ahly the equaliser in the 106th minute, before scoring the winning goal in the 107th minute.

There is no doubt that Manuel Jose’s changes were the secret to Al-Ahly’s superiority, after the trio Ahmed Seddik came on for Hossam Ashour, Ahmed Shedid Qenawy for Islam El-Shater, and Osama Hosni for Flavio.

While coach Henri Michel’s changes caused Zamalek to decline by bringing in Ahmed Hossam and Osama Hassan, except for Shikabala’s superiority after he came on instead of Hazem Emam.

The Red Devils won 43 Premier League titles, 39 Egypt Cup titles, 13 local Super Cup titles, 7 Sultan Hussein Cup titles, 16 Cairo Region League titles, one United Arab Republic Cup title, and one Egyptian Federation Cup title.

Al-Ahly succeeded in winning the African Cup Winners’ Cup 4 times in 1984, 1985, 1986 and 1993, and Al-Ahly Club was crowned with 12 African Champions League titles (1982 – 1987 – 2001 – 2005 – 2006 – 2008 – 2012 – 2013 – 2020 – 2021 – 2023 – 2024)
The Red Devils won the Confederation Cup once in 2014, and were crowned with the African Super Cup 8 times in 2002, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2013, 2014, 2020 and 2021, and won one title in the Afro-Asian Cup in 1998, to crown the Red Devils with 26 continental titles so far.

Throughout its long history, Al-Ahly Club has won the league and cup championships 18 times, the first of which was in the 1948-1949 season, the first season in which the league competition was held, which the Red Devils won. It also succeeded in winning the Egypt Cup title at the expense of Zamalek (Farouk at the time) in extra time (3-1).

ظهرت في الأصل على www.youm7.com

Leave a Comment